تعديل

نجوم الاستدامة 2013 – 2015 ‏

فئة المدرسة القيادية : مدرسة عائشة بنت ابي بكر، مدرسة أبوظبي الهندية، مدرسة الطليعة، مدرسة مدرسة الشيخ خليفة بن زايد البنغلادشية الإسلامية، مدرسة قطر الندى، المدرسة الإسلامية الإنجليزية

نجحت هذه المدارس في جعل المكونات الأربعة للمبادرة ضمن الممارسات اليومية لمجتمعهم المدرسي، حيث قاموا بالتدقيق البيئي بشكل منتظم، و الرحلات ميدانية، كما شاركوا بجميع دورات تدريب المدربين وعملوا على تطبيقها، كما أن لديهم أندية بيئية تقوم بمشروعات داخلية ومجتمعية للمساهمة الفاعلة في دعم البيئة. وقد تأهلوا للمستوى التالي من كونهم مدارس مستدامة – ليكونوا مدارس قيادية، هذا العام، لقد تبنى طلاب ومدرسو هذه المدارس مدارس جديدة، وأرشدوهم ليصبحوا أكثر استدامة. شاهدوا الطلاب وهم يتحدثون عن تجاربهم في قيادة مدارس أخرى، والتحديات التي واجهوها (اضغط هنا)

فئة الرحلات الميدانية : مدرسة بدع المطاوعة، مدرسة البطين العلمية الخاصة، مدرسة الختم، مدرسة البشائر)

هذا العام، قام حوالي 31,555 طالب من جميع أنحاء إمارة أبوظبي شاركوا برحلات ميدانية تعليمية من خلال 302 رحلة ميدانية. قام الطلاب بزيارة مواقع شيقة في أبوظبي مثل مدينة مصدر، محمية الوثبة للأراضي الرطبة، محمية أشجار القرم، لمعرفة المفاهيم العلمية والبيئية في المواقع. شاهدوا طلاب المدارس التي تميزت في مجال الرحلات الميدانية وهم يتحدثون عن تجاربهم وخبراتهم المكتسبة من هذا المجال (اضغط هنا)

فئة أفضل مدرسة في مجال المعلم البيئي الفعال

حضر معلمو المدارس المتميزة دورات تدريبية بهيئة البيئة، مع أكثر من 400 مدرس أخر من جميع أنحاء إمارة أبوظبي، لتعلم مهارات جديدة ليكونوا معلمون بيئيون أكثر فاعلية. شاهدوا أثر منهجيات التدريس الجديدة على الطلاب والمعلمين.

مدرسة الرحاب   (أضغط هنا)

مدرسة الريادة المشرقة   (أضغط هنا)

مدرسة المها   (أضغط هنا)

مدرسة البطين العلمية الخاصة   (أضغط هنا )

فئة أفضل مدرسة في مجال التوعية المجتمعية

مدرسة رماح

قام طلاب المدرسة بالتواصل المجتمعي مع أصحاب المزارع بمناطق الرماح وبو سمرة للمحافظة على المياه من خلال إصلاح خزانات وأنابيب المياه في مزارعهم. بذل الطلاب الوقت والجهد للمساعدة في عمليات الإصلاح، وتعزيز التوعية بين أصحاب وعمال المزارع لتقليل استهلاك المياه. شاهد فريق النادي البيئي بالمدرسة وهم يتحدثون عن مشروعهم وإنجازهم (أضغط هنا ).

 

فئة أفضل مدرسة في مجال التوعية المجتمعية

مدرسة المنتهى

بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع الداخلية مثل فصل النفايات وجمع النفايات الإلكترونية، كما قام طلاب المدرسة بالتواصل المجتمعي للبحث عن حل لمشكلة الحشرات وانتشار الصراصير في مدارس ومساكن منطقة مصفح، في أبوظبي. شاهد فريق النادي البيئي بالمدرسة وهم يتحدثون عن مشروعهم وإنجازهم (أضغط هنا ).

مدرسة النهضة الوطنية الخاصة للبنات

بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع الداخلية طوال العام، تنظم طالبات المدرسة معرضاً سنوياً للاستدامة البيئية. وقد أتى معرض هذا العام تحت شعار "المياه"، وقام الطالبات بدعوة زملائهم من طلاب المدارس الأخرى للمشاركة في أنشطة تعزيز التوعية من خلال المعرض وورش العمل. لمشاهدة إنجاز المدرسة (أضغط هنا).

مدرسة الحويتيين

بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع الداخلية بالمدرسة، قام أعضاء النادي البيئي بالتواصل المجتمعي من خلال إطلاق مشروع الزراعة المائية والذي يهدف إلى توفير المياه في المزارع. شاهد فريق النادي البيئي وهم يتحدثون عن مشروعهم والتحديات التي واجهتهم في محاولتهم لتنبي هذا النظام الزراعي الموفر للمياه في مجتمعهم. (أضغط هنا)

مدرسة مايور الخاصة

بالإضافة إلى تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع الداخلية مثل إجراء التدقيق البيئي، طلاب أصغر نادي بيئي في أبوظبي قرروا لإيجاد حل لمشكلة النفايات التي يتم ألقاؤها في المناطق المحيطة بالمدرسة. شاهدوا الخطوة الأولى من حملة "تنظيف الوثبة"، والتي تواصلوا من خلالها مع المجتمع من خلال زيارة أماكن سكن العمال لتوعيتهم (أضغط هنا)

فئة أفضل مدرسة في مجال التدقيق البيئي

مدرسة المسيرة

عانى الطلاب طويلاً من فضلات الحمام المنتشرة في المدرسة وحولها مما أثر على جودة الهواء بالمدرسة. تبالدل الطلاب الأفكار بحثاً عن حل لهذه الأزمة وتمكنوا من جمع فضلات الحمام (حوالي 200 كيلو جرام في عدة أشهر) وقاموا بتحويلها إلى سماد. شاهدوا الطلاب وهم يتحدثون عن مشروعهم (اضغط هنا ).

مدرسة سانت جوزيف الخاصة

قام طلاب المدرسة بإجراء "تدقيق بيئي" لقياس استخدام اليابسة والمياه والهواء والطاقة والنفايات. ورغم أن استخدامهم للمياه كان في الحدود المسموح بها خلال اليوم الدراسي، إلا أنهم حاولوا أن يقللوا من استهلاك المياه، وإعادة تدوير "المياه الرمادية" لزراعة وتعزيز استدامة حديقة المدرسة. شاهدوا كيف قاموا بذلك، لمعرفة المزيد عن هذه المدرسة (اضغط هنا)

مدرسة الرسالة

قام طلاب المدرسة بإجراء "تدقيق بيئي" ولاحظوا الكميات الكبيرة من المياه التي تنتج عن تصريف مكيفات الهواء (حوالي 200 لتر يومياً)، وقرروا استخدام هذه المياه في أغراض التنظيف وري الحدائق. شاهدوا الطلاب وهم يتحدثون عن مشروعهم (اضغط هنا)

مدرسة الاضواء الخاصة

قام طلاب المدرسة بإجراء "تدقيق بيئي" حتى يتمكنوا من تقليل بصمتهم البيئية لتكون مدرستهم أكثر استدامة، قاموا بتقسيم أنفسهم إلى فرق لتقليل استخدام كل مورد بالإضافة إلى إعادة استخدامهم. لدى المدرسة حفرة للسماد يقوم فيها الطلاب بتجميع السماد لتزويد حدائقهم به، كما يقومون بفصل النفايات ويتخلصون منها بشكل صحيح. شاهدوا الطلاب وهم يتحدثون عن تجربتهم (اضغط هنا).

 

 

نجوم الاستدامة 2011 – 2012 ‏

 

فئة الجائزة

المدرسة‎ ‎

المنطقة‎ ‎

المدرسة المستدامة: ‏ سجلت هذه المدارس أكبر عدد من النقاط في المكونات الأربعة لمبادرة المدارس المستدامة، والتي ‏تشمل التدقيق البيئي، وإنشاء وإدارة الأندية البيئية، وتدريب المدربين والرحلات الميدانية.‏

ذهبية

مدرسة الطليعة

العين ‏

فضية

مدرسة أبو ظبي الهندية

أبو ظبي

برونزية

مدرسة المعالي

العين ‏

 

الرحلات الميدانية: ‏ هذه المدارس نقلت طلابها إلى أفق جديد عبر رحلات ميدانية مبتكرة ‏

ذهبية

مدرسة فاطمة بنت أسعد

الغربية

فضية

مدرسة البشائر الخاصة

أبو ظبي

برونزية

مدرسة الطليعة

العين

 

المعلم البيئي الفعال: ‏ إنّ معلمين هذه المدارس كانوا الأكثر نجاحا في دمج استراتيجيات التعليم والتعلم الجديدة التي تم ‏تدريبهم عليها من قبل هيئة البيئة- أبو ظبي.‏

ذهبية

مدرسة الطليعةl

العين

فضية

مدرسة بدع المطوع

الغربية

برونزية

مدرسة الرسالة

العين

 

أفضل تدقيق بيئي: ‏ قامت هاتان المدرستان بإجراء تدقيق المدارس الخضراء الأكثر شمولية لمدرستهم، تم حجب الجائزة ‏البرونزية من هذه الفئة لهذا العام الدراسي

ذهبية

مدرسة أبو ظبي الهندية

أبو ظبي ‏

فضية

مدرسة المعالي ‏

العين

 

أفضل مدرسة في مجال التوعية المجتمعية: ‏ ‏ كانت هذه المدارس الأكثر نجاحا في تنفيذ مشاريع لزيادة وعي الطلاب وأولياء الأمور حول القضايا ‏البيئية وإيجاد حلول ملموسة لها.‏

ذهبية

مدرسة قطر الندى

الغربية

فضية

مدرسة الطليعة

العين

برونزية

مدرسة مؤتة

الغربية

 

أفضل إدارة - الطاقة: ‏ كانت هذه المدرسة الأكثر فعالية في الحفاظ على استهلاك الطاقة. تم حجب الجوائز الفضية ‏والبرونزية لهذه الفئة‎.‎

ذهبية

مدرسة الشيخ خليفة بن زايد بنجلاديش الإسلامية الخاصة

أبو ظبي

 

أفضل إدارة - الهواء: ‏ كانت هاتان المدرستان الأكثر فعالية في إدارة جودة الهواء. تم حجب الجائزة البرونزية لهذه الفئة.‏

ذهبية

مدرسة الرحاب

الغربية

فضية

مدرسة الرواد

أبو ظبي

 

أفضل إدارة - المياه: ‏وكانت هذه المدارس الثلاث الأكثر فعالية في إدارة المياه بمبانيها المدرسية ‏

ذهبية

مدرسة الرواد

أبو ظبي

فضية

مدرسة الرحاب

الغربية

برونزية

مدرسة أم الإمارات

العين

 

أفضل إدارة - الأرض: ‏ كانت هاتان المدرستان الأفضل في تحسين المسطحات الخضراء بالمدرسة بأنواع من النباتات التي ‏تتحمل الجفاف. تم حجب الجائزة البرونزية لهذه الفئة

ذهبية

مدرسة قطر الندى

الغربية

فضية

مدرسة الشيخ خليفة بن زايد بنجلاديش الإسلامية الخاصة

أبو ظبي

 

أفضل – إدارة النفايات: ‏ وكانت هاتان المدرستان الأكثر فعالية في خفض وإعادة تدوير نفاياتها. تم حجب الجائزة البرونزية ‏لهذه الفئة‎.‎

ذهبية

مدرسة القديس يوسف

أبو ظبي

فضية

مدرسة الرحاب

الغربية

 

نجوم الاستدامة 2010 – 2011 ‏

أفضل مدرسة مستدامة

 قطر الندى للتعليم الثانوي – مدينة زايد.كان أداء هذه المدرسة جيداً في جميع مكونات المبادرة ‏الأربعة فقط أعطت المدرسة نفس القدر من الجهد و الوقت ‏لتنفيذ تلك المكونات الأربعة. وقد شارك في المبادرة معظم ‏المعلمات و الإداريات و الموظفات وأولياء الامور مع عدد ‏كبير من الطالبات الشئ الذي ساهم في تحويل هذه الأعمال ‏إلى مبادرة المدرسة الشاملة و الجدير بالثناء أن طلاب هذه ‏المدرسة هم من قاموا بمعظم المهام التي تم إنجازها و ليس ‏فقط المعلمات و إدارة المدرسة. ‏

صناع التغيير

مدرسة ليوا الدولية الخاصة – العين

قامت المدرسة ببذل مجهودات كبيرة من أجل إستخدام الطاقة ‏الشمسية (الطاقة المتجددة) لإعادة تدوير المياه الرمادية و ‏إستخدامها للزراعة من خلال إستخدام طرق إبداعية و ‏تعديلات مثيرة للإهتمام الزراعة. تتخذ ايضاً هذه المدرسة ‏سياسة بعد النظر. كما تقوم المدرسة بتوفير الدعم المالي ‏لجميع مقترحات الطلبة المتضمنة لطرق التعديل الحديثة ‏للوصول إلى مدرسة خضراء بناءً على تقييمهم في العام ‏الماضي.‏

أفضل مدرسة في مجال التوعية المجتمعية

مدرسة قطر الندى للتعليم الثانوي – مدينة زايد

بالإضافة إلى عدد المشاريع الصغيرة توجهت بها المدرسة ‏نحو المجتمع حول قضايا ذات أولوية كالمياه و النفايات و ‏غيرها. فقد ساهمت المدرسة في رفع مستوى الوعي و عمل ‏تغيير في المجتمع المحلي و ذلك من خلال البدء في مشروع ‏تجميع الأدوية المنتهية الصلاحية من أجل إدارتها و التخلص ‏الآمن منها و ذلك بالتعاون مع مستشفى مدينة زايد. و قد طلب ‏المستشفى في الوقت الحالي دعمهم لرفع مستوى الوعي ‏للتخلص الآمن من إبر الآنسولين. ‏

أفضل مدرسة في مجال التعليم البيئي الفعال.‏

مدرسة أبوظبي الهندية, ابوظبي ‏ أظهرت إدارة المدرسة إستعدادها لإرسال معلميهما لتثقيفهم و ‏تزويدهم بالمهارات و تحديث معلوماتهم المتعلقة بدولة ‏الإمارات العربية المتحدة و إيصال المفاهيم البيئية للطلبة. و ‏قد تمكنوا أيضا من الإفادة من جميع التدريبات التي حصلوا ‏في جميع المناهج لمختلف المراحل التعليمية من إبتدائية و ‏إعدادية و مراحل عليا.‏

أفضل مدرسة في مجال الرحلات الميدانية ‏

المدرسة الامريكية الدولية الخاصة, أبوظبي ‏

تميزت هذه المدرسة بأن 80% من الطلبة قد شاركوا في ‏الرحلات الميدانية لموائل ذات اهمية و اماكن متنوعة. ولقد ‏قامت المدرسة بجعل الرحلات الميدانية جزء من المنهج ‏التعليمي، كما قام الطلبة بتقديم تقارير حول تلك الرحلات.‏

أفضل مدرسة في مجال التدقيق البيئي

مدرسة الطليعة للتعليم الاساسي و الثانوي، العين

قام طلبة هذه المدرسة بعمل تدقيقاً للأداء البيئي للمدرسة تميز ‏هذا التدقيق بالدقة و التركيز. و قاموا بمتابعة و مراجعة الأداء ‏البيئي للعام السابق و تقديم تقرير منظم لهذا العام بناء على ‏التدقيق للعام الماضي. ‏

أفضل إدارة ‏

الهواء ‏

مدرسة العباس بن عبد المطلب للتعليم الثانوي، الرويس

يستخدم العديد من طلبة هذه المدرسة بواسطة السيارات ‏الخاصة. لكن بعد إجراء تدقيق الهواء، ظهر تغير في ‏سلوكيات المشاركين و إنخفاض في نسبة الكربون وصل إلى ‏‏36% و ذلك نتيجة لإستخدام و سائل النقل المشتركة.‏

النفايات ‏

مدرسة سانت جوزيف الخاصة ‏

تختلف هذه المدرسة عن بقية المدارس حيث أنها تؤمن ‏بتخفيض النفايات أولاً بدلاً من إعادة تدوير النفايات. فقد ‏قامت المدرسة بخفض كمية النفايات مقارنة بالعام الماضي و ‏ذلك بواسطة إتخاذ خطوات ملموسة. قامت المدرسة أيضا ‏بوضع سياسة صفر للأكياس البلاستيكية (أي عدم إستخدام ‏الأكياس البلاستيكية مطلقاً)، كما تم القيام بجمع مخلفات ‏الأطعمة و تحويلها إلى سماد طبيعي إستخدمته لحديقة ‏المدرسة. ‏

المياه

مدرسة ليوا الدولية الخاصة

نجحت المدرسة في إعادة تدوير جميع المياه الرمادية. تم ذلك ‏من خلال إستخدام الطاقة المتجددة (الطاقة الشمسية) لجمع و ‏تصفية المياه الرمادية و إستخدامها في زراعة النباتات و ‏العمل على تخضير المدرسة.‏

الأرض ‏

مدرسة قطر الندى للتعليم الثانوي، مدينة زايد.

قامت المدرسة مقارنة بالعام الماضي بزيادة المسطحات ‏الخضراء من خلال زيادة النباتات المحلية مما أدى إلى ‏مراعاة مياه الري و إدارتها بشكل جيد. كما كانت المدرسة ‏مثال جيد لغيرها من المدارس الأخرى فقد قامت بوضع العديد ‏من الخطوات العملية مثل جمع فضلات الطيور و إستخدامها ‏كسماد في المسطحات الخضراء. ‏

الطاقة

مدرسة ليوا الدولية الخاصة

قامت المدرسة بالعمل على خفض درجة حرارة الهواء و ‏تبريد المدرسة و تقليل إستخدام مكيفات الهواء مما أدى إلى ‏توفير 10% من الطاقة المستخدمة في المدرسة. و ذلك من ‏خلال إجراء بعض الخطوات العملية كوضع شبكات مغطاة ‏بالنباتات على جدران المدرسة الداخلية فأصبحت (كجدران ‏تنفسية)‏

نجوم الاستدامة ‏‎2012-2013‎

+ أفضل إدماج لمفاهيم الاستدامة ضمن المناهج

Edit

Sustainability Stars For 2013-2015

Lead school category : Aisha Bint Abi Baker School, Abu Dhabi Indian School, Al Talee'a School Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Bangladesh Islamia School, Qatr Al Nada School & Islamia English School.

These schools have successfully integrated the four components of SSI into the DNA of their school – they do their Green Audit regularly, go on Field Trips, attend Training of the Trainer sessions to become better environment educators, and also have Eco Clubs that do internal and community projects to contribute positively to the environment. They have graduated to the next level of being a Sustainable School – this year, the teachers and students took several new schools under their wing and guided them to become more sustainable. Watch the students speak of their experiences of taking the lead, and the challenges they faced (Click here)

Outdoor field Education Category: Bedaa Al Mutaw'a  School, Al Bateen Scientific Private School, Al Khatim School & Al Bashair Private School.

This year, a total of 31,555 students across Abu Dhabi Emirate were exposed to outdoor field education through 302 field trips as a part of the Sustainable Schools Initiative of the Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi. The students visit interesting spots around Abu Dhabi, such as: Masdar City, Al Wathba Wetlands Reserve, the Eastern Mangroves, to name a few – and learn in the field about various scientific and environmental concepts. Watch the best schools in this category speak of their experiences (click here)

Sustainable schools success stories

Environment Educators Category: Al Rehab school, Bright Riders school, Al Maha school & Al Bateen Scientific private school

The teachers of these schools attended training sessions at the Environment Agency, along with 400+ other teachers from across Abu Dhabi, to learn new skills to become more effective Environment Educators. Watch the impact of the new teaching methods on the teachers & students:

Al Rehab School  (Click here)

Bright Riders School  (click here)

Al Maha School  (click here)

Al Bateen Scientific Private School  (Click here )

Best Community Outreach Category:

Remah School

In addition to executing several internal projects at the school, the students of the school have also reached out to the community of farm owners around the Remah and Bu Samra areas to conserve water by fixing broken water tanks and pipes in their fields. The students volunteered their time and efforts to help with the repairs and raised awareness among the farm owners and workers to achieve a reduction in water consumption. To Know more about the school project (click here).

 

Sustainable schools success stories

Best Community Outreach Category:

Al Montaha School

In addition to executing several internal projects such as segregating waste and collecting electronic waste, the students of the school have also reached out to the community to find a solution to the problem of pest and cockroach infestation in their school and residential area of Mussaffah, Abu Dhabi. To Know more about the school project (Click here).

Al Nahda National School for Girls

In addition to executing several internal projects throughout the year, the students also observe an annual sustainability eco fair. This year, the theme of the Sustainability Fair was “Water” and the school invited students from several other schools to participate in the awareness building exercise through an exhibition and workshop. To Know more about To Know more about the school project   (Click here).

Al Huiteen School

In addition to executing several internal projects at the school, the students of the Eco Club have also reached out to the community by launching a Hydroponics Farming project. This video outlines their process and the challenges they faced in trying to adopt this water-efficient method of agriculture for their community. To Know more about the school project (Click here)

Mayoor Private School

In addition to executing several internal projects such as conducting their green audit, the students of the youngest Eco Club of Abu Dhabi also decided to find a solution to the problem of waste dumped in the areas around their school. Watch the first step of their “Clean Up Al Wathba” project in which they reach out to the community to by visiting a Labourers Accommodation in the area to create awareness. To Know more about the school project (Click here)

Sustainable schools success stories

Best Green Audit Category:

Al Maseera School

The students of the school conducted a “Green Audit” to measure their use of land, water, air, energy and waste. They had long been struggling with the problem of pigeon droppings in and around the school which affected the air quality at the school. The students brainstormed and found a way to collect this pigeon waste (nearly 200kg in a few months!) and convert it to manure. Watch the students speak passionately about the project & what they learn (click here).

St. Joseph’s School

The students of the school conducted a “Green Audit” to measure their use of land, water, air, energy and waste. Although their use of water was within permissible levels for a day-boarding school, they attempted to reduce their water consumption and recycle the “grey water” to plant and sustain a school garden. Watch a film (click here) to know how the students did it.

Al Resala School

The students of the school conducted a “Green Audit” to measure their use of land, water, air, energy and waste. On observing the amount of waste water generated by the Air Conditioning system of the school (nearly 200 litres each day), the students decided to recycle this water and use it for cleaning and watering their gardens. Watch the students speak of the challenges they faced in executing this project (click here).

Al Adhwa Private School

The students of the school conducted a “Green Audit” to measure their use of land, water, air, energy and waste. To reduce their carbon footprint and make their school more sustainable, they divided themselves into teams to reduce their use of each of these resources and also recycle them. The school has its own compost pit where they generate manure to maintain their gardens, and they also segregate their waste and dispose it correctly. Watch the students speak about their experiences & projects (click here).

Sustainability Stars For 2011-2012

 

Award Category

School Name

Area

Most Sustainable School: These schools scored the most points in the four components of the Sustainable Schools Initiative, which include conducting a green school audit, establishing eco clubs, training of the trainers and students going on field trips.

GOLD

Al Talee'a School

Al Ain

SILVER

Abu Dhabi Indian School

Abu Dhabi

BRONZE

Al Ma'ali School

Al Ain

 

Most Proactive Schools: Outdoor Field Education: These schools whisked their students away on the most innovative outdoor environmental field trips.

GOLD

Fatima Bint Asad School

Western Region

SILVER

Al Bashair Private School

Abu Dhabi

BRONZE

Al Talee'a School

Al Ain

 

Most Effective Environmental Educators: These schools’ teachers were the most successful in incorporating the new teaching and learning strategies that EAD trained them on.

GOLD

Al Talee'a School

Al Ain

SILVER

Beda Al Mutawah school

Western Region

BRONZE

Al Resalah School

Al Ain

 

Best Green Audit: These two schools carried out the most comprehensive environmental audit of their school. The bronze award of this category was withheld for this academic year.

GOLD

Abu Dhabi Indian School

Abu Dhabi

SILVER

Al Ma'ali School

Al Ain

 

Most Proactive School: Community Outreach: These schools were the most successful in implementing effective environmental awareness projects through their Eco club and reached out effectively to parents and community leaders.

GOLD

Qatr Al Nada School

Western Region

SILVER

Al Talee'a School

Al Ain

BRONZE

Mu'tah School

Western Region

 

Best Managers: Energy: This school was the most effective at conserving its energy consumption. The silver and bronze awards of this category were withheld.

GOLD

Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Bangladish Islamia Private School

Abu Dhabi

 

Best Manager: Air: These two schools were the most effective at managing its air quality. The bronze award of this category was withheld.

GOLD

Al Rehab School

Western Region

SILVER

Al Ruwad School

Abu Dhabi

 

Best Manager: Water: These three schools were the most effective at managing its water.

GOLD

Al Ruwad School

Abu Dhabi

SILVER

Al Rehab School

Western Region

BRONZE

Um Al emarat school

Al Ain

 

Best Manager: Land: These two schools were the best at improving the school’s area with native drought- tolerant plant species. The bronze award of this category was withheld.

GOLD

Qatr Al Nada School

Western Region

SILVER

Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Bangladish Islamia Private School

Abu Dhabi

 

Best Manager: Waste: These two schools were the most effective at reducing and recycling its waste. The bronze award of this category was withheld.

GOLD

St. Josephs

Abu Dhabi

SILVER

Al Rehab School

Western Region

 

Sustainability Stars For 2010-2011

Most Sustainable School

 QATR AL NADA FROM MADINAT ZAYED. This school gave equal weightage to the four components in this initiative and excelled in all of them. Most of the school teachers, administrative support staff and parents along with most of the school students were involved in this initiative truly making it a whole school initiative. Another laudable feature in this school was the fact that most of the actions here were student driven.

Change Maker

LIWA PRIVATE SCHOOL ALAIN

This school put in tremendous effort in using renewable solar energy to reuse their grey water for planting plants through highly innovative technology and interesting retrofits. The school management had a far sighted policy. It gave full financial support for all of the retrofits suggested by students to make their school green as a result of their last year’s assessment, showing concrete change and a way forward for all other schools.

Best School in Community Awareness

QATR AL NADA SCHOOL, WESTERN REGION

In addition to several small action projects to reach out to the community on priority issues such as water, waste etc., the school reached out to their community.  They helped raise awareness and made a tangible difference in the local community by initiating a project for collecting expired medicines from the community for safe disposal and management by networking with the Madinat Zayed Hospital. The hospital has now enlisted their support for raising awareness on safe disposal of insulin syringes.

Most Effective Environment Educators

ABU DHABI INDIAN SCHOOL – This school’s Management showed willingness to send their educators for updating their teachers’ skills and knowledge regarding the UAE’s environment to better communicate environmental concepts in classrooms with locale specific realities and actions in mind. They also managed to successfully integrate all trainings into their primary, middle and the senior school curriculum.

Best Outdoor Field Educators

AMERICAN INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL, ABU DHABI

 In this school, 80% of the student population was taken on field trips to diverse habitats and places of environmental importance during the academic session. The School also integrated all field trips modules and student follow up reports into their school’s curriculum.

Best Green School Audit

AL TALEA SCHOOL, ALAIN

 The Students conducted meticulous audits of their school’s environmental performance. They tracked and reported on their performance from their last year’s audit in a very systematic manner.

Best Managers

Air

Al Abbas School, RUWAIS

Many students were commuting to schools through private cars in this school. After conducting the air audit, students initiated a change in their commuter practice and reduced their carbon emissions by nearly 36 % by through shared transport to school.

Waste

ST. JOSEPH SCHOOL, ABU DHABI

Unlike all other schools, this school strongly believed first in reducing their per capita waste rather than believing in Recycling first. Compared to their last year’s audit, the school reduced their per capita waste by taking concrete steps. The school also initiated a zero plastic waste policy.  The school composts all their food waste and uses only the composted fertilizer for their school garden.

Water

LIWA PRIVATE SCHOOL, ALAIN

This school successfully recycled all their Grey water from their school. They used solar power for collecting and filtering all the grey water and used the filtered water for planting and maintaining their green plants in the school.

Land

QATAR AL NADA SCHOOL, MADINAT ZAYED.

This school increased their green area in comparison to last year with more native species. They managed to do this through sound and rational water management. This school has also set an example for many other schools to follow by making provisions for collecting all bird droppings for reusing as fertilizer to maintain their green areas.

Energy

LIWA PRIVATE SCHOOL, ALAIN.

With excellent retrofits and making their school walls into ‘breathing walls’ with a grid of  surrounding green plants , the school managed to reduce the temperature of air inside their school thus reducing the need for excessive air conditioning to keep it cool from outside heat.  They managed to save up to 10% of their energy use in their school.

Sustainability Stars For 2012-2013

+ Best Manager-Waste
+ Best Manager-Water
+ Best Manager-Energy
+ Best Manager-Air
+ Best Manager-Land
+ Best Community Outreach
+ Most Effective Educator
+ Most Proactive School
+ Best Green Audit
+ Most Sustainable School